making arm warmers

I was getting a bit sick of my boring black arm warmers, so I decided to make some new ones.

I was feeling a bit lazy, so I bodgied them up the easy way.

You will need:

A pair of over the knee socks – try and go for something that isn’t cotton.  There’s lots of non-cotton socks out there – wool, bamboo and a stack of nylon/spandex stuff.

Gripper elastic – enough to fit around your upper bicep twice (one for each arm).  Gripper elastic is elastic with silicon on the inside of it so it stays up.  Kinda like the stuff on the inside edge of a strapless bra.

Sewing stuff (needle and thread)  I sewed this by hand as I couldn’t be bothered getting out the sewing machine.

Anything you want to pretty these up with – buttons, ribbons, iron on patches. Whatever

Method

Cut the socks off at the heel.  If you bought tube socks, you can probably just cut them off at the toe.  These ones were quite long (and I have short arms) so I cut them off a bit higher and I’ll hem them so I get a pair of arm warmers AND a pair of socks.

Cut the sock off at the heel

Now, hem the raw edge

Hemmed raw edge.

This part becomes your wrist hole. Now, get your gripper elastic and sew into the inside of the sock.

Elastic sewn in

Now you’re pretty much done.  Pretty them up with anything you like – buttons, ribbons, whatever, and you’re done.

Finished!

It is super easy, and good fun.  Give it a go.

Leave a Reply

